Munich – Day 1

Cool place.

Unspectacular, understated, undeniably cool.

I have come here to train with a mentor of mine for the past 7 years, and tomorrow I get to meet him for the first time…

I owe Kelly Starrett a lot.

When I first started following his educational material, I was utterly bewildered.

He was speaking English, but yet talking this whole other language.

Here I was, a CrossFit coach, and there he was, a CrossFit coach. Yet, we were not the same thing at all.

He understood movement and communicated on a level I had never encountered.

Honestly, I couldn’t help but hate the dude. Genuinely, my comparative lack of knowledge drove me crazy.

So…I went down the rabbit hole.

I immersed myself in positional archetypes, joint rotation, torque, capsule distraction…..

Eating up knowledge wherever I could find it, deepening my understanding.

I had witnessed a master, a coaching archetype to aim for.

Ever since then, Kelly’s framework for analysing and improving movement has helped me further my career, build a business.

As I said, I owe him a lot. In a many ways, the guy educated me for free.

And tomorrow, I get to chat with the 2017 version.

Needless to say, I pretty excited.

Munich – Day 1

Leave a Reply

